Trump FTC Commissioner Nominees

Addressing the significant lack of Commissioners at the FTC, it has been reported that President Trump will nominate Washington lawyer Joseph Simon, a partner at the law firm Paul, Weiss, Rifkind, Wharton & Garrison LLP, to chair the Federal Trade Commission, replacing acting chair Maureen Ohlhausen, 

Simon’s focus has been on anti-trust matters. He previously served as the director of the FTC's Bureau of Competition from 2001 to 2003. During his tenure, the agency sought to block high profile alcoholic beverage and food products mergers.

Trump is also reported to nominate two others as FTC commissioners: Noah Phillips, a Republican who serves as chief counsel for Senate Majority Whip John Cornyn (R-Texas), and Rohit Chopra, a Democrat who is currently a senior fellow at the Consumer Federation of America.

All nominees will require Senate approval. Commissioner McSweeny will likely step down upon approval as her time has expired.

Takeaway: Trump’s anticipated nominees appear to be poised to continue the FTC’s efforts at anti-trust and consumer protection enforcement.

Add a comment

Type the following characters: romeo, three, hotel, november

* Indicates a required field.


Recent Posts



Jump to Page

Necessary Cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytical Cookies

Analytical cookies help us improve our website by collecting and reporting information on its usage. We access and process information from these cookies at an aggregate level.